The Danube Tower, designed by architect Hannes Lintl according to static calculations by Robert Krapfenbauer, was built in the course of preparations for the Vienna International Garden Show. After about 20 months of construction, the tower was opened on 16 April 1964.

As part of a change of ownership in 2016, the architectural firm “eichinger offices” was commissioned with the planning implementation of the general renovation.

The existing gastro areas in the tower have been equipped with new wall and floor coverings. The furniture has been completely renewed. Numerous attractions, such as photo terminals and interactive maps, have been set up on the viewing terrace and in the entrance area of the tower. The restaurant area on the ground floor has been generously extended by a low-rise building, which houses a beer and excursion restaurant.

In addition to the design changes, fire protection and the escape route situation have been improved and raised to a modern level. Fire sections have been rehabilitated or newly created, generous escape route areas have been designed safely to guarantee the stay of up to 400 people safely.

Factbox

Our area of responsibility: structural engineering, building physics, fire-prevention planning, testing engineer, building book

Project type: Renovation, extension

Use: Gastronomy, Tourism

Architecture: Eichinger Offices

Client: DONAUTURM Liegenschaftsverwaltungsgesellschaft m.b.H. & “DONAUTURM” Aussichtsturm- und Restaurantbetriebsgesellschaft m.b.H.

Usable area: approx. 2,560 m²

Photos: © o.n.film. Jürgen Kritzinger

Der vom Architekten Hannes Lintl nach statischen Berechnungen von Robert Krapfenbauer entworfene Donauturm wurde im Zuge der Vorbereitungen zur Wiener Internationalen Gartenschau errichtet. Nach rund 20 Monaten Bauzeit konnte der Turm am 16. April 1964 eröffnet werden.

Im Rahmen eines Eigentümerwechsels 2016 wurde das Architekturbüro „eichinger offices“ mit der Planungsumestzung der Generalsanierung beauftragt.

Die bestehenden Gastrobereiche im Turm wurden mit neuen Wand- und Bodenbelägen ausgestattet. Die Möblierung wurde komplett erneuert. Auf der Aussichtsterrasse und im Eingangsbereich des Turmes wurden zahlreiche Attraktionen, wie Fototerminals und interaktive Umgebungskarten aufgestellt. Der Restaurantbereich im Erdgeschoß wurde großzügig um einen Flachbau erweitert, welcher ein Bier- und Ausflugslokal beherbergt.

Zusätzlich zu den gestalterischen Änderungen wurde der Brandschutz und die Fluchtwegsituation verbessert und auf ein modernes Niveau gehoben. Brandabschnitte wurden saniert oder neu geschaffen, groszügige Fluchtwegbereiche wurden sicher gestaltet, um den Aufenthalt der bis zu 400 Personen gefahrlos zu garantieren. Weitere Highlights folgen….

Factbox

Unser Beitrag: Tragwerksplanung, Bauphysik, Brandschutzplanung, Prüfingenieur, Bauwerksbuch

Projekttyp: Renovierung, Zubau

Nutzung: Gastronomie, Tourismus

Architektur: Eichinger Offices

Auftraggeber: DONAUTURM Liegenschaftsverwaltungsgesellschaft m.b.H. & „DONAUTURM“ Aussichtsturm- und Restaurantbetriebsgesellschaft m.b.H.

Nutzfläche: ca. 2.560 m²

Fotos: © o.n.film. Jürgen Kritzinger